Skip to content

mi familia

August 10, 2009

Well, I’m going to try it.  I’m going to attempt to have a theme every month as a focus of our books, outings, and activities.

My family has a skeleton to our day that never changes.  Breakfast, morning activity, lunch, nap, afternoon play, dinner prep, dinner, bath, stories, bed.  All of our families have a somewhat similar flow, I’m sure, because of the needs of small children.  And I have learned that I do not enjoy overplanning my day.  For example, I don’t know what I’ll be doing at 8:00 on Friday morning, and if I did, it would bother me.  But I do NEED a structure for our week – I need to know our time is punctuated by certain predictable activities.  It helps me make the most of my time, and to enjoy the down time we have, knowing when specific needs (for social interaction and maintaining our home) will be met.

So my idea is to have our theme of the month, and to talk about it throughout the month.  I may also plan one or two bigger events around our theme.  But I hope to have several activities related to our theme already prepared, so that when the mood strikes – i.e., when it’s raining outside, or the baby needs a longer nap, or whatever – we are all prepared with ways to interact with one another that are not media dependent.

Because my children will have a new cousin any day now, we have been talking more about families recently.  So our theme for August will be Families.  I’m collecting ideas for activities now, and I’ll post them here soon.  Again, my reason for posting any of this is to share what has worked for us and what hasn’t, as well as to hear things that have worked in your home.  So please, share!  Do you have any book recommendations on books about families?  Any ideas spring to mind as you’re thinking about family themes?  Anything you’ve done in the past that your children really enjoyed?  Anything I should avoid that hasn’t gone well for your family?

Inquiring minds want to know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    August 10, 2009 7:40 pm

    great idea! i might steal it! =)

    there’s a great homeschool website that i think maybe I showed to you already?? can’t remember. but here’s the link. they have lots of good ideas around literature. you might be able to find a book that you like and then find some ideas too…

    http://www.homeschoolshare.com

Leave a Reply

