Skip to content

August 9, 2009

Okay, so I think this blog would be a great idea, if only I had any activities to offer.  The problem is, I got NOTHING.  I’ve done all of my fun stuff for the past several years with my early intervention kids, and now I’m out of anything novel or new to do.

But I did have an idea for this next school year.  What preschools do is choose a theme (some for the week, some for the month, depending on the school), and then teach within that theme.  I’m thinking about choosing a theme for each month, and then find activities that focus on that theme.  It would give me some direction and some new blood pumping into my used-up plans.  What do you think?

Now the real test will be a. can I follow through all month long? and b. can I follow through all year long?  We’ll see.

Any suggestions on themes?  I’ll let you know what I come up with, and I’ll definitely post any activities or links that I find here to share with you all as well.  What do you think?  Is this a really bad idea to try to do at home?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessica C. permalink
    August 9, 2009 9:23 pm

    I think this is a great idea! We have been able for a few months now to keep up with a weekly letter theme with activities centering around the letter. It has given us a great framework to work in. I hope to get through the alphabet including long vowels by the end of the year. I really like your idea of other themes…maybe that is a good direction for us to go in after the new year.

Leave a Reply

