Skip to content

making puzzles

July 26, 2009

On a whim (really, just trying to figure out how to do something new with our old materials) Asher and I made puzzles last week. It just kind of developed as we went, but he really enjoyed it, so I thought I’d pass it on.

Asher likes to use scissors (“safety scissors,” he calls them), but so far just snips around the edges. Cutting in a line, moving scissors along paper, is a harder skill. Making puzzles is a good place to practice.

Asher picked out a few pictures from a coloring book. Then I cut the general outline out. When I was finished, I held the paper still while he cut lines across the picture in several places. When he was finished, he had four or five big pieces in front of him (a puzzle of his own making). He pieced them together, then glued them onto construction paper (we actually used the backs of previously used paper – I told you we were trying to make the most of what we had =), then painted his puzzle when it was dry.

toodles puzzle

It would also be fun to glue the picture onto cardboard (you could even use part of an empty cereal box, so that it wouldn’t be too thick for young children to cut), paint it, and then cut the pieces of your puzzle.  Older toddlers/ preschoolers might enjoy this a little more, so that they could play with their puzzle when it was complete.

Anyone else ever made puzzles? How did you do it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 2:46 pm

    Stephanie – I love your new blog. Of course I have had brain freeze since I started reading it. David and always did “stuff” around here when he was younger. Not that we don’t still do stuff, but anyway… One thing that popped into my mind this morning after reading your puzzle post was motor skills and hand-eye coordination. Since I had always heard boys were slower in that regard we tried to keep the scissors handy and one of David’s favorite things was to try and cut a straight line. I’d draw the line real thick and he’d cut it. Another good thing for scissors and glue and extra paper is to make a paper chain to count down the days until _______ you fill in the blank. And the last one is gather old magazines and let them cut pictures out of babies or dogs or toys or whatever cathes their eye then glue them on something.

  2. thegreenlife04 permalink*
    July 26, 2009 2:59 pm

    Michelle, I love the paper chain idea! I hadn’t thought of that … I’ll have to keep it in mind for the next time we’re counting down to something. I’ve done the cutting out pictures from magazines thing with Preschool Children’s Church, but Asher and I have never done it. He would enjoy that too. That would be a good idea for teaching categories (another 2-3 year-old skill) – to find pictures of animals, or pictures of a certain color, pictures of food, pictures of people, etc. You could also do it for opposites (big versus small, etc) – another preschool skill.

    We have done cutting a straight line a few times, but Asher’s not quite able to do it yet. I need to remember to suggest it when we’re playing though, so that he can practice.

    Thanks for the ideas!

  3. July 31, 2009 7:14 pm

    i love all of these ideas!! So glad you are doing this, stephanie!

Leave a Reply

