Skip to content

rainy day blues

July 18, 2009

My goal is simple: I am looking for ways to engage my two young sons without breaking the bank or spending naptimes doing prep work. I don’t need worksheets, coloring pages, or activities that involve felt strips and gum drops (do YOU have gum drops just lying around?). I need practical, simple, FUN things to do with my children.

So far the internet has not been nearly as helpful as I would have hoped. I hope this blog will become a place for other parents to find ideas and share their own. I hope to be prepared for the next rainy day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica C. permalink
    July 18, 2009 11:24 pm

    Sounds great!

  2. July 24, 2009 6:03 pm

    Ok, you know I don’t have kids yet, but I did used to teach preschool and nanny. I also had a subscription to “Family Fun” for the years I taught as it had great ideas in it. Check it out if you haven’t already, it’s a cheap subscription to the magazine, and I enjoyed reading it.
    One of the articles that really stuck out to me was on a “break the rules day”. If done properly – with plenty of explanation and warning to it’s beginning and end – it sounded like so much fun and a great way to help kids have some freedom!
    Basically the daily rules are not in effect. Wanna wear your pjs all day? Ok! Breakfast in bed? Ok! Ice cream for lunch? Ok! Stay up past bed time? Ok!
    Just a day off from rules for both the kids and the mom.

Leave a Reply

